I know I promised a post a week, but I just haven’t been up to it lately. After hearing about the children in Sandy Hook, I just couldn’t think of anything to share. I’ve been letting my son get away with so much mischief, simply because I’m glad to have him here with me. He’s been getting his fair share of hugs and kisses too. I can’t imagine him (or his dad) not coming home from school one day.

My Christmas spirit isn’t really there. We moved offices last week, and I’ve been pulling some later hours at work in an effort to get organized. Our files were packed all crazy, and even though I have more desk space, it’s cluttered–which is not how I function  at work. In addition to that, the holiday means employees have to get their hours for the week into the time system earlier. It also means that while you guys are relaxing on Monday, I’ll be at work helping run payroll.

I’ve also been checking my blood sugar 3-4 times a day. I was given a prescription for oral insulin earlier this week because my fasting levels are way too high. I cried (of course). I can’t sit around moping though. I’ve just got to do what I’ve got to do so that my baby’s health and my own health is taken care of.

Inspired by Mamademics, I’ve decided to take up crochet. I tried to learn to knit years ago. Little old ladies from my church tried to teach me to crochet. It never stuck, but this time I’ve got a new sense of determination. I really want to make something for the new baby. And the old baby. And myself. Unfortunately, I picked up crochet thread instead of yarn, which means I can’t make anything for anyone. I’ve been trying to get to the yarn store all week…on Monday, I left work late. On Tuesday, I was tired. On Wednesday, I didn’t feel like it. On Thursday, I figured I’d go on Friday. And yesterday, someone decided to call exactly at 5pm to ask me to enter timecards and a transfer, so I didn’t leave the office until 5:40. At some point this week, I WILL get my yarn.

Just because I’m not in the mood, doesn’t mean there isn’t some Christmas around the house. The baby’s tree is up and decorated. I hung some pointsettia towels in the kitchen. My sorrel is on the stove, and I’m slowly straightening up the place. You all have a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

