I don’t count sheep.

Some people count sheep. I decorate my dream house. It’s not huge—but there’s a dinig room, living room, kitchen with breakfast bar, and a sliding glass door that leads to the deck. I do this almost every night, telling myself that one day, that house will be mine…

Welcome to my first post of the week. In order for that house to be mine, I’ve got to get out from under the mountain of debt that I’ve found myself under. I’m 30 now. I’m a mother of two, and a wife. It’s time to stop making excuses and start being responsible for the choices (and mistakes) I’ve made financially in order to do better for myself and my family. I used to spend money recklessly, charging items and spending my paycheck within a weekend. I used to buy things to look a certain way, or to make people think certain things. I used to spend my last dime to have a good time, borrow money from others, and pretend that my bills didn’t exist. I’ve gotten myself into financial ruin for the sake of trying to keep up with the Joneses, and I’m sick of it.

This year, I’m intending to set a budget. I’m currently paying around $600 a month on 3 student loans, another $200 in past due credit, and yet another $200 towards a surgery I had nearly 5 years ago. However, it’s worth it to know that I’m slowly working my way out from debt. It’s worth it to know that one day, I’ll be able to afford to give my children their own bedrooms, a backyard, and a home that belongs to them. It’s worth it to know that one day I’ll be able to afford a vehicle to transport them to whatever activities they’re involved in because I can afford for them to be involved. Most importantly, it’s worth it to know that one day, I’ll have the satisfaction of not owing anyone anything.

 

2 thoughts on “I don’t count sheep.

    • I’m actually reading The.Total.Money.Makeover, but I can’t seem to consistently save the $1,000. I keep having little “emergencies.” I think lowering my loan payments would help, but sadly it’s not an option.

      Sent from my Veriz

Leave a Reply

