Black and Married

It’s been a while since my last post. Life got in the way.

I’ve started planning for my son’s first birthday party. I can’t believe he’s been here for almost a year. I can’t believe I have a baby, period.

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a mommy blog. It’s something that’s been on my mind for a while now. I feel like maybe God is prodding me to start it, and there are some other (business) ideas that came to mind when I first started thinking about it. Although, how would I really keep up another blog when I barely post here?

Hubby and I got away for the weekend. We celebrated Black Marriage Day in 2 cities. Virginia hosted a day of workshops and a panel discussion, featuring Kindred the Family Soul. I’ve you’ve ever met us, you’d know that we are HUGE Kindred fans. It was awesome to actually get to speak with them (and take a picture!)Image

The panel featured couples in the artistic field (African dance and drumming, rap, acting, R&B, soul), discussing their relationships and family structure. We were also witness to a wonderful proposal that made me tear up and my husband jump up. People were shouting and clapping and  crying. Black love, y’all. Black love!

After the conference, we headed over to Maryland to watch a new film, “Still Standing,” from the creators of Black and Married With Kids, Lamar and Ronnie Tyler. The film was great (even though I fell asleep. It’s a 6 hour drive to VA!), and we got the DVD. It’s about different couples and the challenges that they’ve faced. Through it all, their marriages are still standing.

It was a great weekend. We had some intense discussions about marriage-what are the benefits? does it help you to reach your full potential?-and our future as a family. The entire weekend was a platform for us both to grow as a couple and a family unit. If Black Marriage Day is celebrated in your area, I encourage you to be a part! You don’t even have to be married–at our conference there were married, divorced, engaged, and dating couples. The purpose is to learn and grow. Check out Black Marriage Day for more information.

2 thoughts on “Black and Married

  1. l love Kindred too. Saw them at Essence a few years ago. They seem like they would be so cool to hang with. Did you ever watch their web show ? I thought it was really good.Sounds like a great event for couples.

    • They were so cool! Really down to earth and friendly–Aja even congratulated me on the baby and asked how old he was. I haven’t seen their show, but I’ve heard about it.

Leave a Reply

