A Product Review…

Hubs went a program at BAM this week, where they just so happened to be giving out free samples of Miss Jessie’s. Why they were giving out hair products a t a program on black fatherhood, I’ll never figure out, but he brought home a bag. I had been wanting to try their stuff for a while, but refused to make the financial commitment–I hate spending money to try a product and then realizing I hate it.

I’m so glad that I didn’t actually buy Super Slip Sudsy Shampoo, because I’d be upset. It’s supposed to be the best detangling shampoo for curls. It’s supposed to be ultra moisturizing. It’s supposed to have a green apple scent. Two out of three ain’t bad. I can usually comb through my hair without much trouble when it’s saturated with water. I thought this shampoo might make the process a little easier, but no dice.  To be quite honest, I feel like this shampoo made my hair even more tangled. It was a fight to wrestle the comb through my hair, and I gave myself a headache trying to. When I felt my hair after  shampooing, it felt like a dry, waxy, paper bag. It did smell nice, though.

Super Slip Sudsy Shampoo gets a “meh” from me. I wouldn’t use it again–I prefer Suave’s almond and shea butter shampoo for moisture. I’ve got 2 more products from the swag bag…a deep conditioner that I’m supposed to leave on for 30 minutes (like that’s gonna happen) and some curly meringue that has gotten rave reviews. I’ll let you know what I think if/when I try them out.

I really want to like their stuff, because their products seem to work well for kinky, curly hair. I’m still trying to figure out what my natural hair likes (after 9 months), what makes it shiny and moisturized, and how to keep it looking cute on a daily basis. Right now it grows up instead of out or down. I’m tired of having to rely on other people to take care of MY hair. Hopefully, I’ll find the right product or mix of products soon.

3 thoughts on “A Product Review…

  1. I tried that shampoo and had to return it. It was horrible. I tried Miss Jessies years ago when it was still new to the scene and I liked it then. Now it seems that because it’s mass made or something, it doesn’t work as well.

    • I hated it. My hair felt like dry paper after I used it–and don’t let me get started on their sweetback treatment…that thing made my head look like a brush fire waiting to happen. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I tried the MJ products about 2 years ago when I was considering growing out my boy cut. **shrugs** I was very underwhelmed and for the price, very disappointed. Good luck with your natural hair journey!

Leave a Reply

