Dinner.

Curry chicken, jasmine rice, and fried plantain.

Last night’s dinner came from the Caribbean region of the spice rack. While my mother is from Trinidad, there are some things we usually bought from the store…I remember her making stew chicken, macaroni pie, sorrel, and rice and peas, but for curry chicken, doubles, roti, and most sweets we went to Ali’s or Allan’s.

So, thanks to Nineteen Sixty Nine, I’ve learned to make curry chicken. Guess what? I had never made chicken before I got married, and I’m still partially terrified that one day I’m going to give us all salmonella poisoning. Oh, and I can’t make rice…I’ve only done it perfectly once, so I cheated with the 3 minute microwave stuff.

One thought on “Dinner.

Leave a Reply

