Epic.

And that my friends, is exactly what he did. Without giving you the gory details, let’s just say I experienced one of the most epic moments in my motherhood career thus far.

Instead of freaking out, having a fit, or even resorting to calling my mom, I handled the situation as only a mother could. While a bath is usually something his father and I do together, I lugged the tub out by myself, bathed him, and got him changed. I then figured out a way to deal with the remaining ickiness, and kept him entertained until daddy came home.

I guess what I’m trying to say is , as a mom, I do epic sh*t. As a new mother, I’ve learned that everything is a burp cloth, and actual burp cloths are too small. I’ve learned that a little drool never hurt anyone. I’ve learned that you have to make sacrifices for your kid, and for your family. I feel like I’ve matured in so many ways. I don’t stress about the little stuff anymore, and I handle things so much better.

As I get closer to 30, I look back at the choices I’ve made and the plans I have for the future. I realize that it’s not about me anymore. My son is my legacy, and I’ve been charged with the responsibility of nurturing him into a responsible adult. With his dad, I must make sure that our son  is respectful, honest, intelligent, articulate, caring, and becomes a productive member of society. I’d say that’s pretty epic sh*t.

*P.S. He started babbling the day after my last post.

5 thoughts on “Epic.

  1. LOL! Oh, the first EPIC dumping. I still remember! My son chose the car. Really son?? The car?? We had to get the hose and everything.
    Welcome to ‘da mommyhood!

Leave a Reply

