Supermom?

For some reason, I think I can do it all. I was able to go through 20 weeks of pledging while working and going to grad school full time. I was able to get into a graduate program without having to take the GRE. I’m able to leap tall buildings in a single bound…

But this week, it just seemed like I was doing way too much. My husband’s birthday was on Monday–I usually start planning his party or whatever in April. Last year, he had a small party and we went to Atlantic City. The year before, I rented out a restaurant and had a DJ and a slideshow. This year, I knew I didn’t have the time or money to do any of that, and a newborn kind of complicates things :). So, we had a small get together at the house with just the guys. I don’t think I’ve ever worked that hard in my  life. Between trying to keep 3 grown men fed, cool (without A/C), and entertained (until hubby got here with the TV); while also playing with a 3 year old is not easy. Soca Baby was upstairs with grandma, so at least I didn’t have to juggle him and everything going on down here.

Yesterday, I made an attempt at laundry. I started a load of whites at 11am, with the hopes of getting everything hung out on the clothesline to dry. Do you know how long it took me to deal with that dang laundry? 12 hours. Twelve. TWELVE! Soca Baby wasn’t having it. Any time we tried to put him down, he fussed. Any time we thought he was sleeping, he’d pop back up in 15 minutes. I took a nap from 5:30 – 7:30 while dad and grandad dealt with the boy. At 11pm, I finally got to hang the clothes out on the racks in the basement.

I’m trying to prioritize each day. I’ve been trying to send out Soca Baby’s birth announcements for the past few weeks. The child was born in May…it’s definitely about to be August. I’ve got about 4 phone calls to return to various people, an invitation and save the date to do for the church’s community center, and a bedroom to turn back into a bedroom (instead of a laundry, day care, and storage facility). I’m trying to be supermom, but I might need one to come save me.

Leave a Reply

