Keep baking, please.

Every week I go to the doctor for an non-stress test and fetal monitoring. I get hooked up to a machine so they can hear Baby N, and I press a button every time he kicks. Today, the technician made me turn to the left, then to the right, then drink some water. She asked me if I was feeling any pain or pressure. Um, nope. Apparently, I was having contractions and didn’t feel a thing. Can I hope that labor will be the same way?

I swore they were going to tell me the baby was coming and that I needed to go to the hospital, but we’re okay. Nothing major. I go back to my OB tomorrow to make sure N is still baking, then back to the perinatologist on Monday for more testing and monitoring. As long as N stays in there for another month, I’m good.

Gifts have been arriving since yesterday. So far we’ve received a blanket, 2 books, a baby on board magnet, a towel and washcloth, and 2 pairs of pants. I’m so touched that a few of the things came from my sorority sister, who defended her dissertation on Tuesday. The fact that she took the time to send gifts when she has so much going on in her own life was very sweet. The other gifts came from a friend of hubby’s who I’ve never met, but am thankful for.

Another reason I want Baby N to stay put is because we have so many things to fill up our weekends for this month. This Saturday, my mom is in a play. Sunday, we’re picking up hubby’s wedding ring in Philly. Next weekend, we’re taking maternity pictures and it’s Mother’s Day. The weekend after that is our baby shower. I think we’re free the weekend after that, but I’m not sure. The next weekend  is Memorial Day and the Dance Africa festival. The first Saturday in June is another friend’s baby shower, but if N wants to come, I’m okay with that. His due date is June 10th. We’ll see if he stays in there for that long.

6 thoughts on “Keep baking, please.

  1. Oooh, I had to do those NST every week starting at like week 25. I hated it. I had to go to two doc appointments every week for like 14 weeks or something crazy. I hated it, but it’s what I had to do to make sure baby was healthy.

    It’s almost over!

    • It’s soooo annoying! The silly belt they make me wear leaves lint all over my pants, and the whole process seems to take forever.

  2. You can indeed hope that all of labor is that way! When I went to the hospital for my scheduled induction, I was at 6 and had no clue I’d been having contractions. Here’s hoping 🙂

    Glad all is well with you and baby N!

  3. In today’s “we’re pregnancy twins” news: During my appointment friday I was having contractions during my non stress test and didn’t know it, lol. She said I had 4 while hooked up and asked if I felt anything. I didn’t feel a thing!

    I got the lamp from Burlington Coat Factory. I was surprised, their baby section is really nice.

    • Isn’t it weird? They tell you you’re having contractions and freaking you out, and you’re sitting there, straight chilling. I asked them if it was time to go. No? Then why are you scaring me?

      Burlington does have some pretty cute baby stuff. I may take my MIL there if she has a heart attack at BrU.

Leave a Reply

