Ups and Downs

Lately, my life revolves around doctor’s appointments. I go to the perinatologist twice a week, where they do a sonogram to check baby’s position and amniotic fluid. Then they hook me up to a machine and monitor his heartbeat and movement. Today, I went to my regular OB to hear his heartbeat, track his size, and hear that I’m being put on medication. Yay.

My best friend is being…herself. She tends to disappear sometimes. I really would like her to remain visible until after my baby shower is fully planned and executed.

My line sister is throwing me a blessing way ceremony…which means the apartment needs to be thoroughly cleaned. Maybe I should give my mother in law a call. Sunday was her birthday, so we took her out to lunch. It was actually very nice, and the food was pretty good too. I got to bond with her, my sister in law, brother in law, and nephews. My youngest nephew is finally out of his “I’m terrified of auntie when she’s here but ask for her constantly when she’s not” phase.

This weather is so weird. I don’t know how to dress anymore. I’m unpacking my summer clothes, but I’m scared to put away my winter ones…so the summer clothes are scattered across the bed. Hubby’s summer clothes are in Rubbermaid totes in the living room.

We went to see African Cats today. For my husband, it turned into an African Nap. I liked it. All about mothers and their power to love, protect, and raise their kids.

If the baby’s still inside, do I still get to celebrate mothers day? According to the one “mother to be” card at Hallmark, yes. The dazzling array of “administrative professionals” cards made me feel undervalued.

I sat outside to enjoy the sun. And got bit by something.

What’s going on with you?

2 thoughts on “Ups and Downs

  1. I’m right with you at the doctor every other day, lol. I’m going to bake them some breakfast bread since we’re forced to hang out so often.

    What’s a blessing way ceremony?

    Heck yeah you get to celebrate mother’s day!

    • I’m so sick of the doctor.

      A blessing way is basically a gathering of close family and friends that honors the mom and prepares her for the birth. It’s supposed to give me mental, emotional, and spiritual support as I enter motherhood.

Leave a Reply

