Pretty. Mom. Swag.

So, this pregnant lady thing is really coming along. People can’t believe I’m 5 1/2 months already. They keep telling me how small I am. It’s strange, because I hoped I’d get a lot bigger. Right now, I’m at the weight I was when I went to Trinidad in May–120lbs. I’m hoping to put on 10 more pounds, and keep them on after little N is born. (Yes, we have a name. No, I’m not sharing.) I know that probably seems tiny or “nothing” compared to some other folks, but my weight’s been somewhat of a struggle for me my entire life. When this is all over, I hope to have a body like Evelyn on Basketball Wives, lol.

Anyway, since I’ve been preggers, I’ve been trying to keep the cute on high. I’ve been putting more effort into my clothes and actually trying to put on makeup in the mornings. People are work have complimented my outfits, so I guess I’m doing something right. We recently went shopping for maternity pants–if everyone wore maternity pants, the world would be a better place. These things are seriously the most comfortable pants I’ve ever owned. I still have to learn some things about makeup (currently, I’m just a mascara and shadow kind of girl), but I’m determined not to be the frumpy chick at Target.

We went to try out strollers yesterday and look at baby stuff. We’re going to visit my BFF and her family over President’s weekend, and she wants to help with the registry. The girl she went with (my godson’s other godmom) took the fun out of it when she did her own registry, so she wants to come with us. We’re going to Babies R Us and Target (because it’s like church to me). I have a few things saved in my favorites folder on the computer, but I know I’m going to be overwhelmed when we actually get to the stores. We’ve gotten Baby N some things already…he has 5 onesies, some baby Jordan socks, and some more stuff coming from the Children’s Place. I’m trying not to O.D. on clothes for him, as I think people will get us stuff for our shower. Everything I’ve bought him has been on sale. The Children’s Place stuff was $2.99 each, and I had a 15% coupon. There’s a little jacket at Old Navy that I think is adorable, but I’m waiting to go to the store so I can use my 25% off coupon. My son is definitely going to be a fly dresser. His “grandmere” (my mom has decided she doesn’t want to be called grandma) told me she’s going to shop at Lord & Taylor and some other frou frou stores so that her grandson can be a “preppy boy.” My dad refuses to be called “grandpere.”

We also visited Grandma and the rest of Daddy’s family to show them N’s pictures. My baby is an exhibitionist…we didn’t get any shots of his face, but his little boy parts are standing at attention. He has long legs! We’re hoping he’s going to be tall, because Mommy and Daddy are shrimps. I’m so excited for him to arrive! Finding out the sex makes it real now.

2 thoughts on “Pretty. Mom. Swag.

  1. What brand of maternity pants did you buy? I’m going to get my sister to buy me some this weekend because all these unzipped jeans are not the hotness!

    Have fun registering, I guess I should do that too! Glad I came over here, I’m falling behind.

    • I bought my pants at Motherhood Maternity. I have a pair of the linty black pants and the khaki colored slacks. The linty black pants are cheaper, but linty. I also have jeans with a waistband that falls under the belly from Old Navy, but I’d recommend any of the pants with a full belly panel.

Leave a Reply

