Things that might help…

If you were my husband, you might kick me. He has been living here for a month, and for a month I’ve been making attempts to clean the apartment. So far, I’ve succeeded in moving things around, clearing the closet in what’s going to be the baby’s room, and bringing more crap into the apartment. I’d show you pictures, but I’m pretty ashamed. One of my goals for this month is to seriously start decluttering and throwing stuff out. Here are some things that I hope will help me.

A bigger bookcase:

Between the two of us, we have a sh*t ton of books. School books, reference books, general reading…it’s like a small library spread across the bedroom, living room, and baby’s room. This bookcase should assist us in keeping all of the books in one place.

Storage baskets:

I bought two yesterday in the hopes that I could shove my binders, baby books, and “self help” books (Purpose Driven Life, Your Best Life Now, Girl, Get Your Credit Straight, The Vixen Manual) neatly into them and place them on the TV stand in our bedroom.

Nightstands with drawers: Hubby keeps complaining saying that when he lived at his mom’s, he had nightstands with drawers. Sorry, I don’t. I bought them thinking they would cut down on clutter, but that didn’t work at all. Now the clutter just clutters the top of the nightstands. They are both covered in books, pictures, bills, batteries, earrings I took off and never put back, hair oil, nail files, remotes…just mess. At least by having drawers, some of the mess can be hidden if company comes over.

Jewelry organizers:

I need these. All of my jewelry currently lives in a Rubbermaid drawer thingie in the bathroom. Necklaces are jumbled up, earrings are strewn about, bracelets are overflowing. Then more necklaces, earrings, and bracelets are on top of the dresser and nightstand. I want to re-do some of the stuff in the bathroom, so the organizers would replace the basket on the dresser that currently holds body spray, deodorant, more hair oil, lotions, and makeup.

Hangers: I need more. Or, I need to give away more clothes.

These people:

Okay, so it’s not that bad. I don’t have emotion attachment to any of the crap, I just have almost no motivation to attack it. I start, then take a break to eat. Or nap. Or watch something on TV real quick. Or I get overwhelmed. I really need someone to come in and yell at me and make me feel bad for allowing things to get out of control. So, if you live in the NYC area and have some extra aggression you want to get out, come over and yell.

 

Leave a Reply

