Merry ChrismaHanuKwanzaakuh

Christmas Day has come and gone. Mine was spent with family and friends, eating and arguing…lol I woke up around 9am and headed upstairs to my parent’s part of the house (I live in the apartment below), only to find that the door was locked. So, I went back to my apartment and started measuring for the furniture I plan to purchase in the ’08.

Around 11, I actually got in upstairs and was immediately told to get started on the cornbread. Merry Christmas to you too. We went to my grandmother’s house at 3pm. You would have sworn she had been on an episode of “Clean House” with Niecy Nash, ’cause the place was soooo clean. I’ve never seen it that clean. My borother and I kept walking around saying, “I can see carpet!” “I never knew there was a fireplace in here!”

My play cousin and her dad came over to see my grandmother, and we got into a discussion about locs. I am eagerly awaiting the day when my locs are as long and thick as hers. Right now I’ve got some that are locs and some that are perpetrating. It’s only been a month, so I’m not too worried. She says by this time next year I’ll have some length.

The family started up about housing costs, co-ops and condos, and how Brooklyn is becoming little Manhattan. We talked about how the neighborhood has changed over the years, how they mispronounced certain words when the first came to America…and then it was time to get down to business. Chicken, cornbread, stuffing, cranberry sauce, rice and peas, and callalloo…

And that was all she wrote.

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

